mapquest page image 1mapquest driving directions page image 2

Understanding The Driving Laws In New York State

So as to drive an auto or cruiser in New York State, you should be a minimum 16 years old, and have either have a substantial New York State drivers permit/learner allow, or a driver permit/learner allow that is legitimate for driving in New York State issued by another state or nation. In case you’re from another nation or state, you can drive in New York State with a legitimate driver permit. You don’t have to apply for a New York State driver permit unless you turn into a New York State occupant.

Key Takeaways:

  • Drivers have to learn both the universal rules and the rules that are unique to driving in a city.
  • To drive a vehicle in New York, you must be 16 years old and have a valid New York drivers license/permit or a drivers license’permit from another state.
  • To get a New York driver license you must pass a written test, do a 5-hour pre-licensing course, and serve a 6-month probation period.

“In order to drive a car or motorcycle in New York State, you must be a least 16 years of age, and have either have a valid New York State drivers license/learner permit, or a driver license/learner permit that is valid for driving in New York State issued by another state or country.”

https://www.drive-safely.net/understanding-driving-laws-new-york-state/